2016 ALA Youth Media Awards

What a morning! Up super-early: Betsy Bird‘s Google Hangout at 4am PST, then for the ALA YMA’s at 5am.  Not sleepy in the slightest, this is my favorite day of the year.

And the early alarm time was worth every minute of lost sleep.

Here are the big winners, going in reverse from how they’re announced at ALA.  I’ll recap my reactions in a future post (and believe me, there are reaction shots!)

2016 Newbery Medal Winner: Last Stop on Market Street written by Matt de la Peña, illustrated by Christian Robinson


2016 Newbery Honor Titles:


  • Echo by Pam Muñoz Ryan
  • The War that Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
  • Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson

2016 Caldecott Medal Winner:Finding Winnie illustrated by Sophie Blackall, written by Lindsay Mattick  


2016 Caldecott Honor Titles:

  • Last Stop on Market Street illustrated by Christian Robinson, written by Matt de la Peña
  • Trombone Shorty illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Troy “Trombone Shorty” Andrews
  • Waiting illustrated and written by Kevin Henkes
  • Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement illustrated by Ekua Holmes, written by Carole Boston Weatherford

2016 Geisel Award Winner: Don’t Throw It To Mo! by David A. Adler, illustrated by Sam Ricks


2016 Geisel Honor Titles:

  • A Pig, a Fox, and a Box written and illustrated by Jonathan Fenske
  • Supertruck written and illustrated by Stephen Savage
  • Waiting written and illustrated by Kevin Henkes

2016 Siebert Award for Nonfiction: Funny Bones written and illustrated by Daniel Tonatiuh


2016 Siebert Honor Titles:

  • Drowned City: Hurricane Katrina and New Orleans written by Don Brown
  • The Boys Who Challenged Hitler written by Phillip Hoose
  • Turning 15 on the Road To Freedom written by Lydia Blackmon Lowery

2016 Pura Belpre Award Illustration Winner: Drum Dream Girl illustrated by Rafael Lopez, written by Margarita Engle


2016 Pura Belpre Illustration Honors:

2016 Pura Belpre Award Author Winner: Enchanted Air by Margarita Engle


2016 Pura Belpre Author Honors:

2016 Printz Award for YA Literature: Bone Gap by Laura Ruby


2016 Printz Honor Titles:

2016 Coretta Scott King Book Awards: Author Winner – Gone Crazy in Alabama written by Rita Williams-Garcia


2016 Coretta Scott King Book Awards: Author Honors

2016 Coretta Scott King Book Awards: Illustrator Winner – Trombone Shorty illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Troy “Trombone Shorty” Andrews


2016 Coretta Scott King Book Awards: Illustrator Honors

…and still MORE goodness from the webcast!

Great job, ALA committee folks! Job WELL done!

3 thoughts on “2016 ALA Youth Media Awards

  1. Janna Lux

    I was completely shocked by the Newbery…I am happy for “Last Stop” but am reading “War that Changed my Life” currently and it is AMAZING! Thrilled to see “Roller Girl” get a nominee.

  2. Pingback: Library Lessons: Jan 11-15, 2016 | Librarian Arika

  3. Pingback: Barnacle’s Boring Bubble Blog Tour! | Librarian Arika

Leave a Reply. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s