Best of 2015 – Chapter Books

Dozens and dozens of books were read, but just fourteen made my Best of 2015 Chapter Books list. Spanning a diverse range of settings, characters, themes and subjects, each book is exceptional in its own way.

Best read-alike for fans of Charlotte’s Web: Appleblossom the Possom by Holly Goldberg Sloane

Best for kids who dream of rocking the stage…once they escape the shadow of their parents and “friends”: Blackbird Fly by Erin Entrada Kelly

Best combination of illustrations and text in a humorous story: Dory and the Real True Friend by Abby Hanlon

Best trio of stories combined into one unforgettable tale: Echo by Pam Munoz Ryan

Best for celebrating and embracing differences: FIsh in a Tree by Lynda Mullaly Hunt

Best free-verse poetry that happens to be both historical and diverse: Full Cicada Moon by Marilyn Hilton

Best to share with any student who has a cell phone and Instagram account: Goodbye, Stranger by Rebecca Stead

Best characterization of what being a best friend truly means: The Honest Truth by Dan Gemeinhart

Best fantastical, Dahl-esque read-alike: Milo Speck, Accidental Agent by Linda Urban

Best creepy-not-scary story since CoralineThe Nest by Kenneth Oppel

Best action-meets-historical-fiction set at the Berlin Wall: A Night Divided by Jennifer E Nielsen

Best secret identity book with princesses AND monsters for girls and boys: The Princess in Black: the perfect princess party by Shannon Hale and Dean Hale

Best prank-filled book to make kids and parents laugh together: The Terrible Two by Jory John and Mac Barnett

Best terrible mother in kidlit ever Matilda‘s mother has met her match): The War that Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Leave a Reply. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s