Thankful for Books, Day 7: Small Steps

small-steps

I’m thankful for: Small Steps by Peg Kehret

An autobiographical memoir, Peg shares her story of living with polio as a child.  Determined and honest, this is a can’t-put-down piece of nonfiction for students and adults.

I came across this gem when I was a children’s public librarian reading all the state award nominated titles.  Many others were flying off the shelf, and I wondered why this one wasn’t circulating.  Fast-forward 10 years: this is one of the go-to books for teachers and students in my building.  It’s been read aloud in dozens of classrooms, and students repeatedly self-select it as well as its companion, Fifty Pages a Day.  Students are drawn to Kehret’s open honesty about a disease that should never affect them in life.

Each year, as Thanksgiving approaches, I take a moment to reflect and give thanks to the books that influence my life, my family, and my students.

Leave a Reply. Thanks!

