Thankful for Books, Day 3

matilda-roald-dahl

I’m thankful for: Matilda by Roald Dahl

Precocious Matilda lives with curiosity, wonder, and a strong sense of justice while she attends primary school and deals with her unloving, loathsome parents.

Another pick from our 2014 West Coast Road Trip that has become a family favorite.  Sharing stories where the adults are most horrid and the children are good and angelic is a delight – I’d almost dare any child not to like it.  My littles were fully engaged listening to young Matilda enforce vigilante justice to those who wronged her.

Each year, as Thanksgiving approaches, I take a moment to reflect and give thanks to the books that influence my life, my family, and my students.

Leave a Reply. Thanks!

