Thinking about Dewey

Thanks to a post from a Facebook friend, I’ve been giving some serious thought to library organization in the elementary school.  As a MLIS certificated teacher-librarian and former public librarian,  I’ve held Dewey’s system sacred for many, many years.  However, this great share at Scoop.It has me in deep thought:

scoop-it-dewey

Reading everything in the above post, watching how my students use our library, and reflecting deeply and honestly on the purpose of the library has convinced me to make a (small) change this year.

The I Can Read section – home of superheros, Piggie and Elephant, Fly Guy and more – needs an update.  There are great books here that students just aren’t using…and I’m guessing it’s because they aren’t organized in a manner that works for them.  All the classroom libraries are organized by genre, after all.  As it is, all the superhero books are already in their own area due to different authors.  It was a questioning nightmare before I moved them.  Having students able to find what they’re looking for without having to ask me week in, week out, “where are the superhero books?” is the goal, after all.

Based on this experiment – which I hope to have organized by the end of October – I’ll reevaluate other areas of the library.  Fiction section, you’ve been warned.

2 thoughts on “Thinking about Dewey

  1. Rebecca Johnston

    I love this concept. When the kids only get 5-10 minutes of library time to actually look for books, it becomes overwhelming for them. They don’t know where to start or have the time to search for the types of books the like to read. This seems like it would make it so much easier for them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply. Thanks!

