2014 ALA Annual Conference: the (very late) recap

Time flies when you’re having fun, and I have had a lovely, time-flying type of summer…so much so that I haven’t posted one thing about the awesome event that kicked off my summer vacation: ALA in Vegas!

Print

Three days of conference awesomeness kicked off with spotting an acquaintance on the airplane that I hadn’t talked to in years.  In short, saying hello and making a connection with her proved to be the best move I made at ALA: she seemed to know everyone and had an amazing professional reach.

Here’s what happened each day.  In photos.  Because they tell the true story.  🙂

Friday:

Saturday:

Sunday:

I’m always pumped after ALA, and this time I had to wait over a week to see most of my goodies due to shipping and more summer travel.  Eventually, this is what I opened:

That’s 50+ pounds of mostly books.  Believe it or not, I was choosy in which ARC’s I picked up.  There is always so much!  A big shout-out to my CrossFit gym: I carried some serious book weight around the convention each day without breaking a sweat!

Major highlights:

  • Authors and illustrators around every corner.  What an amazing floor exhibition!
  • Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen.  Be still my book-loving heart, I was a total fangirl when I met them.  And I secured a copy of their newest collaboration, Sam and Dave Dig a Hole.  Yippee!
  • Newbery darling Kate DiCamillo and the advance readers copy of her latest in the Mercy Watson world, Leroy Ninker Saddles Up.  This was my top ARC of the event!
  • One word: Judy.  Both Judy Blume and Judith Viorst were at a dessert gala sponsored by Simon and Schuster.  Thank you, thank you to my plane connection for the invite.  Judy Blume and me!  In a picture!  Together!  I can barely believe it…
  • The Newbery / Caldecott Banquet.  A whole evening devoted to celebrating the best in children’s literature is my idea of a great night in Vegas!
  • Those boxes of free/mostly free books, bags, and library goodies.  I won’t mention the post office line that was 90 minutes long…
  • Comfortable shoes, clothes, and buses that ran on time!  Win, win, WIN!

Truly, going to ALA is a treat.  I can’t wait to go back!

Leave a Reply. Thanks!

