Top Ten Tuesday

I recently stumbled across The Broke and The Bookish blog’s Top Ten Tuesday.  While I’m already committed to Read-Aloud Tuesday, I figure I can chime in every once in a while.  Today’s topic:

Top Ten Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

Well, this should be relatively easy.  Name a popular adult author who doesn’t write chick-lit (e.g, Evanovich, Grafton) or isn’t required reading in high school (e.g., Shakespeare, Steinbeck), and I probably haven’t read any of his/her books.  Here we go!

1. Stephen King

 I respect King’s work, I just won’t read it.  For me, horror = nightmares.

2.  James Patterson

Simply put, I’m just not interested.

3. Stieg Larsson

I try to read the adult books that stay on the NYT best-seller list for over a year. However, while reading the one above, my husband turned to me and said, “Don’t read this.  It’s not you, and you really won’t like it.”  Good enough for me.

4. Nora Roberts

This is my mom’s favorite author.  I, on the other hand, like my romance in the YA department.

5. Danielle Steel

Surprising, but true.  I read Agatha Christie and VC Andrews in high school.

6. Clive Cussler

My father-in-law’s favorite.  Not my cup of tea.

7. David Baldacci

More action and suspense?  Give me a children’s book, please!

8. Ian Fleming

I’m ashamed to admit this, since I love the Bond movies.  One day, I’ll have to read one.

9. Anne Rice

No vampires.  Period.

10. Enid Blyton

Shamefully, I haven’t read any of Blyton’s novels.  I vow to fix this by reading one this month!

(FYI: This list helped me create my own list.  Sometimes, Wikipedia can be really useful!)

Leave a Reply. Thanks!

