The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place

I recently went on a week-long vacation with a suitcase full of novels.  Blissfully unplugged, I spent my time doing what I love: having adventures with my family and reading.   Here’s one of the books I read:

incorrigible-children-of-ashton-place-the-mysterious-howling

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: The Mysterious Howling by Maryrose Wood

7 word review: Miss Lumley governs three wild, wolf-like children.

Fantasy, adventure.  First in a series.  Recommended for fans of Lemony Snicket’s The Series of Unfortunate Events.  Share with ages 8-12.

Three children are found in the woods, seemingly raised by wolves.  Enter Miss Penelope Lumley, a young governess charged with teaching the wild children proper manners and formal lessons.  When a holiday party goes horribly awry and the children find an unexpected noise within the walls, Miss Lumley is forced to accept that there is more to the situation than meets the eye.  I thoroughly enjoyed this, so much so that I wanted the second book in the series straightaway (alas, I was on a plane).    Bonus: Jon Klassen did the illustrations, and I love-love Klassen’s art!

Favorite quotes from The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: the Mysterious Howling:

“Yet it is also true that the very same troubles that loom catastrophically large one day can seem like small potatoes the next, particularly if even worse troubles have popped up to take their place.”

Leave a Reply. Thanks!

