Counting by 7’s

I recently went on a week-long vacation with a suitcase full of novels.  Blissfully unplugged, I spent my time doing what I love: having adventures with my family and reading.   Here’s one of the books I read:

Counting by 7’s by Holly Goldberg Sloan

7 word review: Quirky Willow must adapt – fast – after parents’ death.

Stand-alone novel.  Realistic fiction.  Share with ages 10-15.

After a freak accident claim the lives of her parents, Willow (adopted years ago) now faces life without any family.  She’s not your typical pre-teen, though: she loves learning and struggles with social situations.  With an underwhelming counselor guiding her and the friendship of an unknown family, Willow’s journey is full of highs and lows that are delicately woven throughout this richly developed story.

Favorite quotes from Counting by 7’s:

“Life, I now realize, is just one big trek across a minefield and you never know which step is going to blow you up.”

“It’s hard to care just a little.”

“I will see only what I want to see.  It’s possible that’s how people get through crisis.  The world where we live is so much in our head.”

“When you care about other people, it takes the spotlight off your own drama.”

Leave a Reply. Thanks!

