2014 Awards Season

Awards season is just around the corner!  I’m not talking about the Oscars or Grammys.  In the land of libraries and children’s books, I’m talking about the Newbery, Caldecott, Geisel, and Printz (among others).

ala-youth-media-awards-2014When:  January 27th, at the ALA Midwinter Conference in Philadelphia.  There is a live webcast of the Youth Media Awards set for 8am EST.  For a West Coast girl, that means I’ll be up and at my computer (tea in hand) before 5am.  5 am, people!  Trust me when I say that I don’t get out of bed this early for many things.  Youth Media Awards, though, merit an ultra-early wake-up.  I LOVE these awards!

I already shared my Best Books of 2013, and I’m hoping to see some of those walk away with awards.  What I’m doing now is trying to finish my reading.  There are tons of blogs and book readers buzzing about which titles they think are in contention.  My reading list is built from reading reviews and from a few other places, including HERE and HERE and HERE.

Long ago, I set my ultimate librarian goal: to serve on one of these major ALA committees (Caldecott, please!).  Six years of serving on the WLMA Sasquatch committee has given me experience, as has years and years of thoughtful reading and discussing.  I say one day because I know that now isn’t my time.  Life comes to a standstill when involved on a committee of this magnitude, and I’m not willing to give up the time with J&H when they are little (which is why I no longer serve on the Sasquatch committee).  So, not today.  But one day.

Leave a Reply. Thanks!

