Thankful for Books: Day 9

I’m thankful for: All the World

As much as I love a good poetry anthology (see: Where the Sidewalk Ends) or a funny pet poetry book (see: Once I Ate a Pie), it’s this one that I find most meaningful.  Quietly introspective, one poem is spread throughout this beautiful picture book.  With its lyric language and the most lush illustrations imaginable, I am inexplicably drawn to this book that shows how each of us are integral parts of the world.  As poet Scanlon writes: “Nanas, papas, cousins, kin / Piano, harp, and violin / Babies passed from neck to knee / All the world is you and me”  Ages 4+.

Leave a Reply. Thanks!

