Coming soon: Candace Fleming!

The best email came this morning: a grant I wrote to host author Candace Fleming at my school in early March 2014 was funded!  This is so exciting!   I ♥ Candace Fleming, and I ♥ and her books!  She’ll also be visiting 6 other schools in the district during her visit to Seattle – what an exciting opportunity for the students!

IMG_0392

I was lucky enough to meet Candy six years ago at the annual International Reading Association conference, held that year in my hometown of Atlanta.  She was, in a word, lovely.  Her books are, in two words, entertaining and informative…two great reasons to bring an author all the way out here from her home in Chicago.

While she writes all types of books, it’s her picture books that I particularly love.  My J&H are big fans, too: J likes Clever Jack Takes the Cake, while H prefers Muncha! Muncha! Muncha!  Her most recent title, Oh No!, is a 2014 WCCPBA nominee.  And the Candace Fleming author study that I do with my K’s each year is one of my – and their – favorites.  I am so thrilled that she’ll get to share her experiences as an author with my students!

As her trip gets closer, I’ll share the pre-visit activities in my weekly Library Lessons posts.  Yay!

Leave a Reply. Thanks!

