Library Lessons: Oct 28 – Nov 1

Kindergarten:  The day after Halloween!  Observation day!  Week 3 of our Arthur Howard study!  Phew.  I saved Hoodwinked for this week as one final Halloween treat.  Goals included: author / illustrator, spine label information, and introducing the nonfiction section of the library.  Since the story featured pets, I highlighted the 600’s.  Additionally, K’s just began studying animals in their classroom and were introduced to PebbleGo Animals in the computer lab.

Based on this week’s list of words / phrases used to describe the story, I know one area to work on: not allowing the words funny, cool, and interesting to be used.  Labeling a story in just a handful of descriptive, specific words is a hard skill for the K’s.  Maybe 3 different words / phrases (rather than 5) would be better…

Oh, and the observation.  It didn’t happen (minor building emergency).  However, I chose this week to tape myself teaching, as watching a video of yourself at work is The Best professional development for any teacher / librarian out there.  I mentioned this to my principal later in the afternoon, and she will accept the full video in lieu of coming in.  This is either good news or bad news…

WP_20131101_003[1]

2nd Grade:  Teaching on Halloween is tough enough.  Add costumes and classes that fall either directly before or after the classroom party, and that’s what I had this year.  Enter a 2013 WCCPBA nominee:

Now, it’s not a Halloween story…but the art, design, color and overall creepiness worked perfectly.  My students *loved* this book.  I love this book.  Afterwards, I asked students to consider this question: How would the story have been different if it had been illustrated with all the colors, not just black/white/orange?  Would it have been better?  Worse?  Why?  A quick think-pair-share later, and almost everyone agreed: less is more when it came to the colors used.

Being cognizant of the holiday – and the level of distraction – reading, we watched a couple of short videos after reading:

Peter Brown explains his artistic process for Creepy Carrots!  I only showed a bit of this one, as I know I have some students who are easily scared.

With almost all of my students partaking in trick-or-treating, Scaredy Squirrel’s tips were well-received.  Bonus: all of my Scaredy Squirrel books got checked out!

3rd Grade:  Three classes the morning of Halloween…one of which also had a field trip immediately after library class.  Good thing I had a solid lesson planned: week 2 of accessing Destiny.  This week’s goals: independently log in to Destiny, do one of the following (a) place a hold / (b) write a review / (c) make a recommendation, locate and use MyQuest to access inbox,  log off.  I modeled all of the expectations before sending the students off to their work stations.

WP_20131031_001[1]

Each student had a computer, and there was lots of focused work for about 10-15 minutes!  One of the major teaching points during the lesson: if students want to get a recommendation, they should write a recommendation to another.   I model this with the students, as I always have lots of recommendations in my inbox.  If someone takes the time to write to me, I should write back.  Students watched as I modeled this expectation.  As I say, it’s simply good online etiquette.  All students received a Destiny bookmark to take home, as they can access the catalog from any Internet connection.

Leave a Reply. Thanks!

