The making of Read-Aloud Tuesday

Welcome to the 2013-2014 Read-Aloud Tuesday.  Let me tell you how this whole thing got started.

Most Tuesday’s, I am lucky enough to serve as a reading volunteer in my son’s Montessori class.  After lunch, the volunteer brings books and reads aloud for about 20-30 minutes.  Sounds simple enough for a children’s librarian.  Of all my strengths, knowing great picture books to read to children is a big one.  Add in my background as a teacher, and I though this would be a walk in the park.

Well.

Last year, before I began, his teacher commented, “I can’t wait to see what great new books you’ll bring to read to our class.”  Wait: new books?  Like books recently published?  Not the tried-and-true, not the lesser-known-but-still-great, not the classics?   New books, ones that are best suited for children ages 3-6?  Well.  This I didn’t expect…but I took it as a challenge.  Research the best new books for the preschool set, then read them each week.

As these things often turn out, this challenge was the Best Thing Ever.  For an entire year, I researched and the children experienced a lengthy list of amazing picture books from 2012 and 2013.  And this year, I’m at it again: I will read at least one recently-published book to his class, along with other great works.   Now I’ll also post what I read, along with reactions from the students.

Leave a Reply. Thanks!

